Posted by: dlip | April 4, 2011

S.T.R. & Stick out your tongue

The first three letters of the word STROKE are another point to remember when assessing whether an individual is at risk. This story came to me as an e-mail, so please be aware – I have no way of knowing how accurate this is.

The story goes…

During a BBQ, a woman stumbled and took a little fall – she assured everyone that she was fine (they offered to call paramedics) … she said she had just tripped over a brick because of her new shoes.


They got her cleaned up and got her a new plate of food. While she appeared a bit shaken up, Jane went about enjoying herself the rest of the evening.


 Jane’s husband called later telling everyone that his wife had been taken to the hospital – (at 6:00 pm Jane passed away.) She had suffered a stroke at the BBQ.

Now I agree, every little stumble doesn’t mean that someone could be at risk, but it would be a good idea for a partner, or someone close to the person, to observe him/her closely and then perform this simple test:

S – SMILE

T – TALK

R – RAISE BOTH HANDS

And the latest – Stick out his/her tongue.

If the tongue seems to be even a little crooked, or goes to one side or the other please DO take the individual to a hospital.

I know I have other posts that say roughly the same thing, but the more people I can get to visit this site and learn about the debilitating affects of a stroke the better.

I know I will never be 100% again. But as long as God gives me the ability to write – I don’t know how many of you know that I cannot read back what I have written – I will do so. My stroke has so affected me that I have lost vision in one eye and the other gives me only limited vision.

Note: I have used the image that came in the email, so I don’t know who to credit. I have used it in good faith and for no commercial advantage.

Leave a Reply

Categories

