Posted by: dlip | August 24, 2010

Hope is the Thing with Feathers

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

Emily Dickinson

For more poems in the old style visit this site Old Poetry

Responses

  1. My dear Dilip, how are you. As I said to your brother I haven’t been around much, but have put all my blogs together in a new blog here at wordpress. Its name is suntithenai. I chose that name because it seems I want to bring together, to synthesize all of me which is all I have written and then move on from there.

    My days for the past year have been not to great. I now live in florida in a wonderful big home with a grand garden with tropicals like you have in India.

    The past six months I have had too many bouts with not being well–mostly my sinus but they bring on other infections.

    I do hope you are well and that life is kind to you now. I had so many people at one time on my blog roll, but it was our notes that pleased me most.

    Take care dear Friend, I shall visit you again and try to let the feathers on my soul once again allow me to sing new tunes.
    Frank

  2. Hi Frank!
    It’s so good to hear from you and see you back at The Clock Struck One. On behalf of Dalip, I would like you to know that he is improving steadily. And, as I may have mentioned in the e-mail, his son recently got married in Goa, India. It is a lovely place with a quite unique identity in India. I shall certainly visit suntithenai – you do use such complex words for your blogs. I needed a dictionary to understand Crepusculum. But I take it “suntithenai” is a word from your own imagination.
    Thanks again for coming back
    Dalip


Leave a Reply

Categories

