Posted by: dlip | August 13, 2010

Bridge over troubled water, Paul Simon

There are times in our lives when deep sorrow touches us, when a loss has no reason that we can see for now. At those times there are certain songs and thoughts that find particular resonance with us. This is one of them.

Bridge Over Troubled Water

When you’re weary, feelin’ small,
when tears are in your eyes, I’ll dry them all.
I’m on your side oh, when times get rough and friends just can’t be found.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.
When you’re down and out, when you’re on the street,
when evening falls so hard I will comfort you.
I’ll take your part, oh, when darkness comes and pain is all around.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will lay me down.

Sail on silver girl, sail on by.
Your time has come to shine. All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine, Oh, if you need a friend I’m sailing right behind.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water, I will ease your mind.

– Paul Simon

Leave a Reply

Categories

