Posted by: dlip | August 10, 2008

Fear of falling

A few days back, I had a very hard and disastrous fall which resulted in me cracking my skull on the handle of the wheel chair which was parked in the corner. The result of this terrible fall was that I had to be rushed to the hospital where the doctors put two stitches in my head. The whole operation, while being hard, was not devastating at the physical level in terms of pain inflicted, but it had worse repercussions at the psychological level.

The thought of being sewn up by needle and thread was quite awe inspiring and quite frankly, scared the hell out of me. As a result of this fall and its consequences I have developed a fear of walking independently. I also eye the hard tiled floor as belonging to the enemy camp. There is, I believe, an old theory, or saying that when a rider falls from a horse, the best remedy is to put him back on the horse and let him ride on immediately.

This makes a lot of sense to me now. At this point of time; which is quite a while after the fall, I still carry that fear of falling. I still carry a baggage of fear, where fear should be none and this inhibits my walking, an exercise which has to be done.

My advice is to avoid, to the extent possible, accidents such as this because it takes a long while to come out of the pitfall this has created.

The title of this section, appears, at first glance to be a sequel to the much acclaimed piece of work by the renowned psychologist Erica Jong: “Fear of Flying”. The similarity in the titles are a mere coincidence. In fact, there is no connection between the two. If the truth be told, I have not even read that account thus any conncetion would be quite unlikely. My future mini-projects are to try and overcome this fear and hesitation.

One among many common problems to be dealt with:

 I think the biggest “common problem” I have is that of sitting. No chair in the house nor anywhere else is comfortable for a sitting spell lasting more than half an hour to forty five minutes. As a result of this there is a great temptation and a tendency to lie supine on the bed which appears to be the only position of comfort. 

When I use the term “comfort” it may not be the same as that understood by people at large. “comfort” to me means absence of pain caused by muscular pulls and tensions. “Comfort” to me is a term implying enjoyment, rather it is a term which means relatively less pain and the pleasure derived from this!

Leave a Reply

Categories

